Ghost in the Microwave

microwave2

This morning our 8 year old (2008) GE microwave started turning on by itself in “Canned Vegetable” mode, a mode I don’t think we’ve ever used. I unplugged it several times for several minutes at a time, hoping the “reboot” might clear it up but it didnt’work.  At this point, I simply don’t trust it.

Anyway, I’m glad I was home. I don’t know if these things can start fires but having the microwave running for hours while we are away can’t be good.  Here’s the microwave information, in case you are experiencing a similar problem:

Model No: JVM1750SM1SS

Made in Malaysia

From what I’ve been reading on the Internet, it seems like the main circuit board is the culprit.

Someone else with the same model had the exact same complaint:

http://www.saferproducts.gov/ViewIncident/1466299

However, it does seem to be a common problem in other GE models:

Leave a Reply

